Staff & Board

Meet our new board members!

Joseph (Joe) L. Cassidy, Esq.

Joe is President of Southern Maine Community College (SMCC). Previously, he served as President of Washington County Community College and Eastern Maine Community College. He is a graduate of the University of Maine School of Law and received his BA in history and MA in education from the University of Southern Maine. He was a practicing attorney and Mayor of Calais prior to his community college career. He is following in the footsteps of his SMCC predecessor, Wayne Ross, who was a long-time Mechanics Hall member and board President. Joe, his wife Vanessa, and son Max reside in the President’s house on the SMCC South Portland campus.

Tom Haushalter

Tom arrived in Portland in January of 2019 with his wife and daughter from Windsor, Vermont where he served as president of trustees of the Windsor Public Library. He oversaw the resurgence of their community programming, expanded fundraising, and led an major building restoration project, among other delicate needs of the library’s historic building. Tom’s professional background spans book publishing, healthcare, and software startups – largely in a marketing and communications capacity. He recently joined the marketing team at Covetrus. His craft? He’s a poet, writer and sometimes orator…not to mention a home-brewer of fine kombuchas!

Stuart (Tuck) O’Brien

Tuck is Senior Counsel at Tilson Technology Management and refers to himself as “Infrastructure Problem Solver and Chronic Enthusiast”. He followed 3 years on the Portland Planning Board with 2 more as the Planning Director. Previously, he worked as a staff attorney at the Maine Public Utilities Commission and as a project developer for Ocean Renewable Power. He is a graduate of Bates College, received a Certificate in Urban Planning from Tufts University and his JD from Boston College Law School. In 2012 he was awarded a 40 Under 40 recognition by Maine Media Today. He resides in Deering Center with his two children and wife, Kate.

Bill Stauffer

Bill Stauffer is a small business entrepreneur and writer based in Portland, Maine and summering on Little Diamond Island with his wife and two daughters. Outside of work and recreation, Bill is a board member of Oceanside Conservation Trust and a founding member of USM’s Stonecoast’s Scholarship for a Writer of Social Justice. Additionally, as an Ambassador with The Freedom Story, an NGO working on trafficking prevention in northern Thailand, he has created an internship for Colby College students in Thailand. Bill is a graduate of Colby College and holds an MFA in creative writing from USM.

Board Members

Paul Stevens, President

Bill Stauffer, Vice President

George Burns, Treasurer

Ken Pierce, Secretary

Hilary Bassett

Suzette Bois

Joseph L. Cassidy

Tom Haushalter

Pamela Hawkes

Kristopher Kleva

Chandra Leister

Sam Mateosian

John Napolitano

Stuart “Tuck” O’Brien

Pamela P. Plumb

Richard Spencer

Advisory Board

Jonathan Cooper

Mark Ferguson

Steve Halpert

Sara Hines

Jamie Johnston

Don Lindgren

Hazel Onzrud

Jake Ryan

Earle Shettleworth

Sam Walker

Our Staff

Annie Leahy

Executive Director


Tom Blackburn

Superintendent of the Hall


Heather Stewart Harvey

Heather Stewart Harvey

Library Director


Lauren Stockless Headshot

Lauren Stockless

Administration & Programs Coordinator



Mechanics often become involved with the Hall by serving on a committee. Engaging with our community allows members to help plan events and guide the trajectory of our organization.


Development committee is responsible for fundraising for our programming and Hall restoration projects. Contact to get involved.

Hall (Building)

The Building Committee oversees the restoration & maintenance of Mechanics’ Hall. Contact to get involved.


The Marketing Committee is responsible for elevating this history and programs of Mechanics’ Hall.  Contact to get involved.


Programming is responsible for programs at Mechanics’ Hall including Makers at the Hall and other lecture series. Contact to get involved.


Library manages the library’s space and collection. Contact to get involved.

Community Partners

Mechanics’ Hall’s community partners include our programming partnerships as well as rental tenants and other local organizations who consistently help the Hall fulfill its mission.

See Community Partners